Memorial Maniacs Relaunching Ahead Of 2023-24 Vandy Basketball Season

Memorial Maniacs. Photo: Courtesy of Vanderbilt Athletics

The Memorial Maniacs are relaunching as the official student section of Vanderbilt basketball as part of the athletic department’s initiative to give Vandy students the opportunity to directly affect the game day atmosphere at Memorial Gymnasium.

With a rich history and tradition of making Memorial Gymnasium one of the toughest places to play, the Vanderbilt student section has been a catalyst for the game environment for years. The original Memorial Maniacs helped provide the Commodores a distinct home court advantage throughout the 2000s as the official student section of Vanderbilt basketball.

Beginning Wednesday, Vanderbilt University students will have one week to submit their vote for their favorite logo of the four options to be selected as the official Memorial Maniacs logo. Students will receive an email with information on voting and how to cast their vote. Voting will close on Sept. 13 at 11:59 p.m.

Beginning next week, applications for the Memorial Maniacs Student Leadership Group will officially open. A core group of students will be selected to assist the marketing department in providing the best experience for students and Memorial Maniacs at Vanderbilt basketball games this season. The Vanderbilt athletic department found success in its pilot program of the student leadership group during the 2022-23 season and will expand the group’s influence and input beginning with the 2023-24 season.

Students will meet throughout the year to discuss marketing and student experience elements including having direct input on student giveaways, themes, game atmosphere elements and promotions. The leadership group will work in partnership with Vandy Fanatics to help shape the full student experience at Vanderbilt basketball games.

Students are encouraged to check their inboxes for the weekly student email which will include information on how to submit an application to be part of the leadership group.

Steven Boero