MTSU’s Chase Cunningham, Vanderbilt’s Ray Davis Named Comeback Player Of The Year Semifinalists

Ray Davis & Chase Cunningham

Middle Tennessee quarterback Chase Cunningham and Vanderbilt running back Ray Davis have been named as semifinalists for the 2022 Comeback Player of the Year Award by the College Sports Communicators, in association with the Associated Press (AP) and the Fiesta Bowl Organization.

The award recognizes college football student-athletes from all divisions of college football for overcoming injury, illness, or other circumstances.

Cunningham, after his 2021 season ended early due to a torn ACL suffered against Southern Miss, bounced back to lead the Blue Raiders to a 7-5 record and a trip to the Hawai’i Bowl. The Knoxville, Tennessee native has passed for 2920 yards and 19 touchdowns while completing 67 percent of his passes in 11 starts. The sixth-year senior also rushed for six touchdowns on the ground.

Davis led the Commodores in rushing with 232 attempts and 1,081 yards. He scored five touchdowns and averaged 4.5 yards per carry. His offensive prowess led the Commodores to a 5-7 record, which included two SEC wins over Florida and ranked Kentucky.

In a vote by a panel of AP writers, editors, sports information directors and Fiesta Bowl Organization representatives, three college football student-athletes will be honored as 2022 Comeback Player of the Year Award winners.

Cunningham is one of two Conference USA Athletes (Jyaire Shorter, WR, North Texas) to make the semifinalist list. Davis is one of two SEC athletes (Ventrell Miller, Florida, LB).

The Full 15-Man Semifinalist List:
(Conference / Player / School / Position)
ACC: Payton Wilson, NC State, LB
BIG 12: Adrian Martinez, Kansas State, QB
BIG 12: Dillon Gabriel, Oklahoma, QB
BIG 12: Trace Ford, Oklahoma State, DE
BIG TEN: Mohamed Ibrahi, Minnesota, RB
BIG TEN: Ronnie Bell, Michigan, WR
CONFERENCE USA: Chase Cunningham, Middle Tennessee, QB
CONFERENCE USA: Jyaire Shorter, North Texas, WR
INDEPENDENT: Marist Liufau, Notre Dame, LB
MID-AMERICAN: Kyle Pugh, Northern Illinois, LB
PAC 12: Justin Flowe, Oregon, LB
PAC 12: Laitu Latu, UCLA, LB
PAC 12: Michael Penix Jr, Washington, QB
SEC: Ventrell Miller, Florida, LB
SEC: Ray Davis, Vanderbilt, RB

Steven Boero