The Titans Name Team Captains Ahead Of Season Opener

The Tennessee Titans have named its five captains for the upcoming NFL season, voted on by the players. Just two days away, the Titans will host the Arizona Cardinals on Sunday (Sept. 12) at Nissan Stadium to kick-off their season.

The players selected to represent the team are safety Kevin Byard, running back Derrick Henry, quarterback Ryan Tannehill, defensive lineman Jeffery Simmons and punter Brett Kern.

This marks the first captaincy selection for Simmons who is heading into his third NFL season. Byard was previously voted a captain in 2019 and 2020 while Henry, Kern, and Tannehill were previously voted captain in 2020.

“They represent the team, and who we want to be, and help carry that message from me, the coaching staff, and into the locker room,” says head coach Mike Vrabel. “There’s no restrictions on leadership. Guys are going to be able to lead whether we name them a captain, or they were voted by their teammates as captains, that is critical to understand.”

After a few run-ins with Covid, the entire roster is virus-free and available for Sunday’s game.

Steven Boero